T20 World Cup 2021

T20 World Cup 2021

Cricket Live

T20 World Cup 2021: Today we will discuss about the upcoming T20 World cup 2021.  This cricket world cup is very popular in the whole world.  Last year, India hosted the T20 world cup in 2016. The International cricket council organize the whole tournament and all the teams follow the rules of ICC.

In 2016, India hosted the world cup and after rescheduling, India will also the host world cup of 2021. West Indies won the last world cup from the England. So, West Indies are the defending champions of the World trophy. The ICC world cup will be held in India from October 2021.

Also Watch: Willow Tv Live

History of the T20 World cup

The first edition of the world cup played in 2007. This world trophy was hosted by the South Africa. The winner of the first edition of T20 world cup India while the Pakistan was the runner up. West Indies is the most successful team in T20 world cup within the 2 titles.

Sri Lanka has played three finals of world cup, winning only final and runner up in two finals. Therefore, Sri Lanka is the second most successful team in the world cup. It is surprising that the Australia has not won a single ICC world cup. Australia has won the five world cup in the ODI format.

T20 World Cup 2021
T20 World Cup 2021

List of the winners of the ICC World Trophy (2007-2016).


Winner Runner up Year/ Host
1.India Pakistan 2007/SA
2.PAK Sri Lanka 2009/England
3.England Australia 2010/West Indies
4.West Indies Sri Lanka 2012/Sri Lanka
5.Sri Lanka India 2014/Bangladesh
6.West Indies England 2016/India


Postponement of World cup

Last year, the ICC world cup 2020 decided to play in Australia. But world cup suspended due to the killer COVID-19. This year, world cup will be played after a long break. The suspension of world cup is heartbreaking moment for the cricket fans. The ICC world cup has been held after every two years. Last year, the world cup and many other events postponed due to the COVID-19. These events were, PSL, Asia cup and World cup ETC.

Also Watch: OSN Sports Live

T20 World Cup Teams Group (Unconfirmed)

Group A Group B
Australia India
New Zealand England
Pakistan Afghanistan
West Indies South Africa


Finally, the top two teams from each group will play the knock-out matches. The groups and schedule may be change as it hasn’t announced officially.

For more updates about any cricket series or ICC events, keep visiting our website.

Leave a Reply